Loading...
Hurricanes & Cyclones

Bingiza's Rainfall Moves Over Mozambique Channel

NASA’s AIRS instrument aboard the Aqua satellite captured more images of Cyclone Bingiza as it moved its way across Madagascar and into the Mozambique Channel.

When NASA’s Aqua satellite flew over Madagascar this morning, Feb. 15 at 11:11 UTC (6:11 a.m. EST), the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) instrument read the temperatures of the cold thunderstorm cloud tops in Cyclone Bingiza. Most of the strongest thunderstorms were north and west of the center of circulation already over the Mozambique Channel, while Bingiza’s center remains over the western part of the island nation.

At 0900 UTC (4 a.m. EST) on Feb. 15, Tropical Cyclone Bingiza had maximum sustained winds near 35 knots (40 mph/64 kmh) so it was still a tropical storm. It was centered about 180 miles (289 km) north-northwest of Antananarivo, Madagascar, near 16.4 South and 45.2 East. It was moving west near 10 knots (11 mph/18 kmh).

At 1 a.m. EST (0600 UTC) Majunga, Madagascar reported north winds at 17 knots (20 mph/31 kmh) and an atmospheric pressure of 997 millibars. Majunga is a seaport city, a district, and a province on the northwest coast of Madagascar. Mahajanga is the capital city of the Boeny region as well as the Mahajanga Province.

Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center expect Bingiza to re-strengthen as it moves fully into the Mozambique Channel and hits the warmer waters. Bingiza is expected to make second landfall in Madagascar later this week.

Cyclone Bingiza

Source: NASA Goddard




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *