Loading...
Disasters & Extreme WeatherHurricanes & Cyclones

NASA Satellite Images of Monster US Snow Storm

NASA’S Aqua and Terra satellites have captured numerous images of the monster storm that is one of the largest winter storms since the 1950s to affect the United States, affecting 30 states with snow, sleet and rain.

Three images from the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA's Terra satellite were combined to create this image of the storm system. The images were captured on January 31 at 10:30 a.m., 12:05 p.m., and 1:45 p.m. Eastern Time (15:30, 17:05, and 18:45 UTC). Diagonal lines across the image show the boundaries between the overpasses. White gaps are areas where the sensor did not collect data. The image has a resolution of one kilometer per pixel. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

A visible image captured by the GOES-13 satellite this morning, Feb. 1 at 1401 UTC (9:01 a.m. EST) showed the low pressure area stretching from the Colorado Rockies and Texas east to New England and a massive area of clouds over the Midwest. The image showed what appeared to be “tails” over Texas and the Gulf coast. Those “tails” are areas where severe thunderstorms are possible today.

This visible image was captured by the GOES-13 satellite and shows the low pressure area stretching from the Colorado Rockies and Texas east to New England. The image shows the storm on Feb. 1 at 1401 UTC (9:01 a.m. EST) by the NASA GOES Project, located at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Md. The GOES series of satellites are operated by NOAA. Credit: NOAA/NASA GOES Project

Source: NASA




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *